Setting Ensemble Roles and Permissions
Website managers manage the roles and permission for individual websites. Web_admins who have had that role for three weeks or so are automatically converted to managers. Likewise, when somone ceases to be a web_admin, they will be removed from the manager role in a few weeks.
Users are managed through the university’s Enterprise Directory Group Manager. As a CMS group manager, you can determine the number of users and roles they have within your site. To add or remove users, go to the group manager: https://groups.it.vt.edu
Login with your VT Username (formerly known as a PID) and your passphrase.
Once the group manager loads, you’ll see the site(s) that you can manage through the CMS and for each site, you will see separate group names for each role within the system. These include:
- Author — A user who can add/edit content. This includes uploading images and other assets to your site’s asset library. Authors cannot publish content without approval from publishers or web_admins.
- Publisher — A user who can publish content to the live site. Publishers automatically inherit the author role.
- Web_admin — Web_admins automatically inherit the publisher role, the author role, and can also add/remove users, adjust the site configuration settings, create vanity URLs, change the theme of the site (if allowed under brand guidance), and add CSS page body classes.
To add a member to any of these groups, click “Add” next to the group name and type in the person’s VT Username (PID) on the next page.
To remove a user, choose “Modify” next to the group name. Once clicked, you’ll see a listing of users who have that level of access to your site. Select the checkbox next to the VT Username and choose the "Delete Member(s)" button.
The next time that user logs in, he/she should see the site listed under the My Sites section of Ensemble. If the user is already logged in, they'll need to exit (sign out) and log back in to see their new site permissions.
Workflow notifications will be sent until the removed users attempts to log into Ensemble. After removing a user from a site, they no longer have any ability to make changes but will still be asked for approvals until they attempt to log into Authoring. Also, users with attempt to any CMS site such as the CMS Sandbox, have read access to published and unpublished pages and assets of all sites. Although you can remove write access, users with any read access have read access to all of Ensemble.
Pubilishers automatically have all the abilities of authors while web_admins automatically have all the abilities of publishers and authors. You do not need to add VT Usernames to multiple roles on each site.
Every night, newly added web_admins will be automatically added to author, publisher, and web_admin groups as a manager. Being a manager allows them to add users to these groups. Likewise, removal from a web_admin group will eventually result in the removal of management of the groups which means they can no longer add or remove people from roles.
Web_admins can remove themselves from groups that they administer. Sometimes web_admins will remove themselves and end up in a state where they cannot add themselves back.