Virginia Tech®home

Workflow

Ensemble workflow are used to get content approved before publishing. Workflow are supported but rarely used for publishers and web admins, but required for all author role users.

Starting a workflow

Any user role can start a workflow from the page information selector of any open or newly created page.

Workflow start from page information selector
Workflow start from page information selector

Clicking the Start workflow option will open a dialog.

Workflow dialog
Workflow dialog

From the Select a Workflow Model pulldown, select the desired publish or unpublish workflow for the page.

Workflow model choice to publish or unpublish
Workflow model choice to publish or unpublish

Type a descriptive title into the text field and then click the Start Workflow button.

Workflow title
Workflow title

Once a page is assigned to a workflow, a banner will appear below the edit toolbar when a page is open, and...

Page edit workflow indicator
Page edit workflow indicator

...information in the Workflow column of the My Sites List display will appear to indicate that the page is part of a publishing workflow and any changes are not yet live.

My Sites workflow indicator
My Sites workflow indicator

Moving an item through the workflow

When a page is ready to publish site publishers and web admins will receive notification when a workflow is pending for review and approval. In the upper-right of the screen, a notification will appear as a badge on the notification icon in the eyebrow menu.

Workflow inbox notification
Workflow inbox notification

Clicking the notification icon shows you the page(s) for review.

Click on a page to review it, or click on “View all” in the notifications menu. All items in the queue for publishing will appear.

Workflow inbox item selector
Workflow inbox item selector

Select the item(s) for publishing and click the View Payload button to see the changed or newly created page.

Workflow inbox with one item selected
Workflow inbox with one item selected

After reviewing and/or additionally updating the page content, you can either click Step Back to revert the document to a previously published version, or click Complete to send the document to the publishing queue from the options below the edit interface toolbar for the page.

Workflow view payload to edit and/or approve
Workflow view payload to edit and/or approve